Love Always

Love Always is the third solo album by  Irish singer-songwriter Shane Filan  released on 25 August 2017, as a follow-up to Right Here (2015), through Ocean Wave Records. The album features Filan's favorite all-time love ballads along with some fans suggestions. He also wrote three original songs, in collaboration with  Paul Barry  and Patrick Mascall, who were previously worked together on Filan's debut album You And Me.

The album's lead single, "Unbreakable" was released on 21 July 2017, along with the music video.

Background and Recording

On 3 February 2017, Filan posted a picture on his Instagram account that he was recording for his third album. On 9 February, he asked his fans on Twitter to pick their favorite love songs to be added to the album and have their names in the album credits. On 7 April, he posted a picture that he finished recording the album.

The album contained both original material and mostly covers of famous love songs. In an interview with Shropshire Star, Filan stated "This new album is full of songs people already know – 75 per cent of them are famous songs and there's new original songs as well. There's a good mix of different styles of ballads. The famous songs, I wanted to do my version of them." He also said that the album took a few months to put together and he may still have one more song to record before it is released. The album is expected to be released in summer 2017.

In an interview with The List, he stated “This is an album I have been wanting to make for a long time, I love singing ballads and this album is full of some of my all-time favourite songs as well as some fan choices such as the Bangles hit "Eternal Flame" which I had never thought about covering but loved recording, to one of my own personal favourites Bryan Adams' "Heaven".”

On 28 June, Filan had a Q&A session through his Facebook and Instagram account.

On 5 July, he reportedly signed to Absolute, which provides label services including distribution, marketing and project management. Fraser Earley, senior label manager of Absolute and also a coordinator for the album release stated, “We’re delighted that Shane has turned to Absolute to support his latest solo record. He’s had a phenomenal career, both with Westlife and as a solo star, and remains as ambitious as ever. With a large, loyal fanbase always eager to hear more from Shane, he’s in a position to do things on his own terms. It’s a privilege to power his independence and continued solo success.”

On 20 August, Filan once again had another Q&A session through his Facebook and Instagram account.


On 7 May 2017, Filan announced the title of the album and the tour dates through his Twitter account. He also released *NSYNC's "This I Promise You", one of the track from the album through his Youtube account. On 28 June, the official cover was revealed, along with the track list, and the album can be pre-ordered starting 29 June, except Asia.


On 21 July, Filan released Jamie Scott's "Unbreakable" as a lead single, along with the music video. The song was taken from Scott's album My Hurricane and was written by himself. The video was filmed on location in Ireland and on Brittas Bay beach, located in County Wicklow, Ireland. Filan's nephew and his real life girlfriend were also featured in the video.

Filan said that his manager, Louis Walsh holds a strong influence on his decision to record "Unbreakable". He stated: “Louis played me "Unbreakable" almost three years ago and he said this is such a hit song, sometimes Louis can ramble on about a song and eventually you realise he’s right and he’s going on about this song for a reason, he went on about You Raise Me Up for a long time before we agreed to do it in Westlife and look what happened there!”

Promotional Single

Bryan Adams' "Heaven" was released as a promotional single from Love Always on 29 June 2017.

Love Always Official Track Listing

Track No. Title Writer(s) Length
1 "This I Promise You" Richard Marx 3:55
2 "Don't Dream It's Over" Neil Finn 3:45
3 "Make You Feel My Love" Bob Dylan 3:32
4 "Beautiful In White" Shane Filan 3:52
5 "Need You Now" Hillary Scott, Charles Kelley, Dave Haywood, Josh Kear 3:55
6 "Heaven" Bryan Adams, Jim Vallance 4:01
7 "Completely" Shane Filan, Paul Barry, Patrick Mascall 3:36
8 "Unbreakable" Jamie Scott 3:49
9 "Eyes Don't Lie" Shane Filan, Paul Barry, Patrick Mascall 3:40
10 "I Can't Make You Love Me" Mike Reid, Allen Shamblin 4:13
11 "Crazy Over You" Shane Filan, Paul Barry, Patrick Mascall 3:11
12 "Eternal Flame" Susanna Hoffs, Tom Kelly, Billy Steinberg 3:09

Released History

Country Date Format(s) Label References
United Kingdom 25 August 2017 Digital download Ocean Wave Records iTunes
Various 1 September 2017 CD Ocean Wave Records Amazon