Filan's nerves over solo career

18/08/2013 10:15

Shane Filan has revealed going solo was "nerve-racking" but "exciting".

The Irish singer is continuing his musical career without his Westlife bandmates (Kian Egan, Mark Feehily and Nicky Byrne), starting with the release of his debut single Everything To Me, on August 25.

"It's nerve-racking. When we were in Westlife we knew where we'd be a year in advance, but now, that's changed, there are so many possibilities. It's exciting too, the future looks good," he said.

"It was a bit weird at first, but I'm learning a lot, finding out new things every day and taking it all in my stride. Everything's new; new music, I'm on my own, and it's very different to Westlife, but it's great - even if it does take a bit of getting used to."

Shane admitted that his upcoming album will be a different sound to Westlife.

"I knew I didn't want to do a Westlife-style album. That would've been easy, but I didn't want to just do that," he said, adding: "All the songs are personal, like I'm writing a letter. I didn't want to make up stories."

The 34-year-old revealed he only decided to go solo after Westlife announced their split in June 2012.

"From a public point of view, I was always going to go solo, but honestly, I'd never even thought about it until we decided we were splitting up," he said.

"The week after that announcement, I thought, 'What am I going to do?' It was quite scary thinking about going from a successful band like Westlife, selling millions of records and playing in massive arenas, to doing something much smaller. I realised I wanted to carry on singing, and without the band, the only way to do that would be to go solo."

 

Credit/Source : www.independent.ie