Shane Filan Releases His Debut Solo Album 'You & Me' On November 4th 2013

12/09/2013 09:53

Shane Filan will release his debut solo album 'You & Me' through Capitol Records on November 4, following the success of his debut single 'Everything To Me'. The next single 'About You' will be released a day before the album - November 3. 'About You' is written by Shane with Steve Mac and Wayne Hector, who famously wrote 'Flying Without Wings' for Westlife.
Shane co-wrote a handful of Westlife songs, but his solo album sees him emerge as a pop writer to be reckoned with.  Shane says "I got off to a really good start. Everything To Me felt like beginners' luck, but I didn't know how good it was. Then the label were phoning, going "This is great!" I'd shown to myself I could do this and that took the pressure off. I was flying in those first two weeks and then suddenly I was in Nashville with really famous songwriters, partly thinking 'WOW!' but also 'Right, let's do this.'"
Shane's co-writers include his old Westlife writer/producer team Steve Mac & Wayne Hector, plus Nick Atkinson (Gabrielle Aplin), Nexus (Lana Del Rey), Paul Barry & Patrick Maskell (Enrique Iglesias' Hero) and Nashville songwriters Kylie Sackley and Brandon Hood (LeAnn Rimes, Faith Hill). It's produced by Martin Terefe (Train, Jason Mraz) and Steve Mac.
While Shane's financial problems have been well documented, the album is an extremely positive collection of songs. He says: "People don't want to hear about your problems. Everyone has problems, lots of people are struggling financially at the moment and it's not something to harp on about. What I got out of my situation is that I'm so lucky to have three healthy kids, a healthy marriage and an amazing wife. That's what the album is about - trying to tell people not to worry. I've been there and it's not worth it. You get through it and you try to stay positive, so I've tried to keep the songs positive."
Shane will embark on his first ever solo tour in 2014. He said: "I'm so excited to be heading out on my first ever solo tour. The album 'You and Me' means so much to me and I cannot wait to play these songs live in front of an audience, and of course there will be some old fan favourites from memory lane and a couple of surprises in there too. Hope to see you all there".

The dates for his 'You & Me' tour are:
20 Feb - Liverpool Philharmonic Hall
21 Feb - Birmingham Symphony Hall
22 Feb - Reading Hexagon
24 Feb - Manchester Bridgewater Hall
25 Feb - Glasgow Concert Halls
26 Feb - Newcastle City Hall
27 Feb - York Barbican
1 Mar - Blackpool Opera House
2 Mar - Cardiff St Davids Hall
3 Mar - Nottingham RCH
5 Mar - Bournemouth Pavilion
6 Mar - Southend Cliffs Pavilion
7 Mar - London Hammersmith Apollo



Credit/Source :